HNDs and HNCs


Higher National Diplomas (HNDs) are an important part of higher education provision. They are designed to increase knowledge and skills based experience.

Our HNDs are BTEC Level 5 qualifications (Business and Technology Education Council) and are awarded by the national awarding body Edexcel (Pearson).

These qualifications can be used to gain entry into universities at an advanced level and are considered equivalent to the second year of a three year university (hons) degree course. Many universities will take students who have completed their HND onto the third year of a degree course. This is often called a ‘top-up’ year. It also means that after three years, a student could have both the HND and an honours degree.

An HND is a semi-vocational/semi-professional qualification, usually studied full-time, in two to three academic years and can also be studied part-time over four years.

BTEC HNDs provide specialist vocational learning that reflects the requirements of professional organisations and meets the National Occupational Standards for each sector or industry. With their strong emphasis on developing practical skills alongside specialist sector knowledge and understanding, BTEC HNDs are recognised internationally by employers as providing learners with the key concepts and practical skills for direct progressions to, or within, employment.

We offer the following HND courses:



A Higher National Certificate (HNC) is a higher education qualification equivalent to the first year of an honours degree. Like HNDs, they also provide specialist knowledge and skills based experience.

Our Engineering HNC can be studied part-time over two years. Our Computing and Systems Development HNC and Creative Media Production HNC can be studied over one or two years.

We offer the following HNC course:


How to Apply

Please apply directly to Strode College, either online or complete the application form in the middle of the Higher Education Prospectus.

Applications for Higher Education courses at Strode College are accepted throughout the year.

Conditional or unconditional offers will be made subject to appropriate qualifications and or experience, successful interview and a relevant academic or vocational reference.

If you are offered a place you should accept within three weeks of an offer being made.


International students

We welcome enquiries from international students, please contact Admissions for more information.